Mill River Watershed Coordinator

Nicole Davis - Save the Sound

(At left: Volunteers have carried out stream assessments over most of the length of the river)


Ron Walters

Vice President

Gaboury Benoit


Cordalie Benoit


Carl   Amento                       

Gaboury   Benoit                

Cordalie   Benoit                  

Nicole   Davis                        

Kim   DiGiovanni-White      

Aaron   Goode                      

Malinda   Hennen                

Elsa   Loehmann                  

Craig   Repasz                       

Pamela   Roach                    

Kathleen   Shomaker          

Joy   Vanderlek                    

Ron   Walters                        

Robert   Workman               

New President

Ron Walters elected president


· A 30+ years at the RWA focused on water quality monitoring and source protection

· As an Environmental Analyst my current  responsibilities include site plan reviews, environmental compliance,  and sustainability efforts

· A BS in Environmental Resource Management from Penn State and a MS in Environmental Science from University of New Haven

· I represent the RWA on the West River Watershed Coalition and the Farm River Water Quality Initiative

· In my spare time I’m either trying to take  seconds off my 5K time or in the garden fighting a losing battle against  mugwort and stiltgrass.    




List of Supporters

(At right: Kevin Dahms, former Green Infrastructure Project Manager with Save the Sound, makes a flow measurement just upstream from the Whitney footbridge.)

The following individuals have shown interest in the Mill River and its watershed, and have generously donated their time

Carl Amento, South Central Region Council of Governments

Rebecca Andreucci, South Central Region Council of Governments

Mark Austin, Hamden Town Engineer

Kendall Barberry, Emeritus

Gabe Benoit, Yale FES Professor, Hixon Center Director

Rebecca Bombero, Director of New Haven Parks, Recreation, and Trees

Bill Brown, Eli Whitney Museum

Aaron Budris, Naugatuck Valley Council of Governments

Lee Cruz, Community Foundation of Greater New Haven

Kevin Dahms, Green Infrastructure Project Manager

Matthew Davis, Town of Hamden Assistant Town Planner

Kim Digiovanni, Quinnipiac University

Sean Duffy, Quinnipiac University/Albert Schweitzer Institute

Kathy Fay, Neighborhood Housing Services

Alex Felson, Director, Yale Urban Ecology & Design

Mark Foran, Whitneyville Civic Association

Joe Gerhard, Author, Photographer: Mill River (2011)

Aaron Goode, New Haven Green Fund

Dawn Henning, City of New Haven Engineering

Daniel W. Kops, Hamden Town Planner

Elsa Loehmann, Cheshire Land Trust

JR Logan, Mill River Trail Advocates

Gwen Macdonald, Director of Green Projects

Chris Malik, Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection

Anna Marshall, Green Projects Associate

Connie Matheson, Whitneyville Civic Association

Florence S. McBride, Filmmaker: The Mill River—Water and Wildlife

Kevin McCarthy, Friends of East Rock Park/Mill River Trail Advocates

Nick Motmans, Cheshire Land Trust

Mary Mushinsky, River Advocates of South Central Connecticut

Annalisa Paltauf, Green Project Assistant and Volunteer Coordinator

Pamela Roach, Cheshire Land Trust

Nancy Rosembalm, Hamden Land Trust

Suzanne Simone, Town of Cheshire Environmental Planner

Eliza Valk, Reed Hilderbrand

Joy Vanderlek, Cheshire Land Trust

Jon Vander Werff, Seasonal Fisheries Biologist

Ron Walters, South Central Connecticut Regional Water Authority

Aicha Woods, Director New Haven City Planning

Anthony Zemba, Fitzgerald & Halliday, Inc.

Giovanni Zinn, City Engineer, City of New Haven

Gary Zrelak, Greater New Haven Water Pollution Control Authority